Lekala 5268 Pencil Skirt by Sewing Tidbits

2 pencil skirts and a mitered corner tutorial

First things first, as will see in ALL the following pictures, there is a new addition to our family. His name is tikiki and he is a 4 months old beagle who will not let me stand in the garden without trying to chew on my shoe :

IMG_3417

Going back to sewing, as said by one of the stars of the sewing community, when you don’t know what to make, make a pencil skirt… Or make two!!

IMG_3410 IMG_3414 IMG_3421

For both skirts I used the same Lekala made to measure pattern as my base, namely Lekala 5268. I considered using the free pattern 5088, but I find that a single dart in the back and a more centered front dart gives a more modern look. I know that especially if you are pear shaped, double darts are recommended but there is something that really feels dated to me.

IMG_3445 IMG_3440 IMG_3438

Both skirts are made from left overs from stash, zippers and interfacing were also from stash. So apart from the 2 dollars from the pattern, they ended up being “free” projects. Yay!! You can recognize the fabric I used for this linen dress and my archer shirtdress.

IMG_3424 IMG_3422 IMG_3431 IMG_3434

Regarding the pattern, I converted the front into one piece with a dart instead of a princess seam. The hem is tapered 1″on each side seam which makes a total reduction of 4″ so I drafted a vent. The waistband is a simple rectangle that does not overlap as I wanted the invisible zipper to reach the top of the waistband. The fit came out perfect with 0 adjustment. Double yay!! I added the seam allowances (3/8 at the waist, 1/2 at the sides and 1 1/2 at the hem.

IMG_3467 IMG_3468 IMG_3469 IMG_3470

The construction is pretty straight forward, they are both unlined so I finished the seams with my serger and used my usual invisible zipper technique. Despite the result, I did try to align the prints at the center back seam of the floral skirt, obviously something went wrong…

IMG_3475 IMG_3476 IMG_3481

One thing that I wanted to try was a mitered corner for the vent. The pattern adjustment is easy, you just chop the corner at a 45 degree angle, leaving a 1/4 seam allowance.

IMG_2712 IMG_3480IMG_3474

I took some pictures of my sewing process for that mitered corner, as you can see I interfaced the hem on the floral skirt to give it some body. My linen did not seem to need it. I believe that the pictures are quite self explanatory but I can give more explanations if needed.

20140512-141847.jpg

 

This post brings me to almost the end of my blogging backlog. If you follow my instagram you know I just made a nettie dress and I hope to take pictures quickly!! I also have a pair of linen twill pants as a WIP and need to work on 2 more pencil skirts for the fabric I got in Mood during my trip to NYC in March. But for those pencil skirts, I have a special project and a treat for you!!

By the way, I cut and sewed the skirts at the same time. 2 skirts at the end of one weekend feels really good! Almost as good as a sexy Nettie Dress made in one afternoon !! As I have been looking into streamlining my closet, pencil skirts and skinny jeans combined with shirts have imposed themselves as a daily uniform. And since I do not make my own skinny jeans, this means you will see a lot of pencil skirts. I created a pinterest board for the special pencil skirt project, I hope that I will be able to share with you very soon!

What about you ? What do you sew when you are wandering helplessly in your sewing room ?

2 thoughts on “2 pencil skirts and a mitered corner tutorial

Leave a comment