FREE PATTERNS: The French Round-up!

Dear Readers,
Since I couldn’t sew for a while, and trying to avoid spending money as a way to cope (link), my only option is to talk, talk and talk about sewing. Unfortunately, neither my four-months old human or my 3-year old dog were very interested in the topic… You, readers, are my victims.

Today, I will try to do round up of free patterns available in French, some are also translated into English. The big disclaimer is that I haven’t tried any, mostly because I don’t have the time but also because the French offer often does not match my aesthetic. However it doesn’t mean that there might not be something you like and it gives me something to do during nap time, so let’s jump in!

Deer & Doe

plantain-t-shirt-pattern
Plantain T-shirt by Deer&Doe
First, there is the ubiquitous Plantain Tee by Deer & Doe. Frankly, I’ve been tempted to try it out (and probably printed it out more than once). I don’t know why I haven’t…

Pauline & Alice

bailen7a

Second and also very famous Pauline & Alice. I’m not even sure if this brand should be categorized as French… Free to download is the Bailen top & dress.

Essais & Erreurs / Festive Road

96847930_o
His & Hers shirt by Essais&Erreurs
Pochette Devant petit rondnoir atténué chemise mixte
Qu’est ce que tu vends pour les vacances by Essais&Erreurs
Pochette Devant I Want Candy
I want candy by Essais&Erreurs
0i_mjhbodoolfegqmetbbiep03a
Moussaillon by Essais&Erreurs
Fit but you know it by Essais&Erreurs
Fit but you know it by Essais&Erreurs
8nj654xtnvzjem_ixbwobktlsao
Tamagotshi Breton by Essais&Erreurs
Brass in Pocket by Essais&Erreurs
Brass in Pocket by Essais&Erreurs
Less known are the patterns released by the Vicomte de Boisjoly on her blog Essais&Erreurs. She has a great writing style, which shone during the whole Aime Comme Marie debacle and she makes available patterns of styles she drafts for herself.

Wear Lemonade

make-my-lemonade-wear-lemonade-robe-luisa-diy-5-690x460
Robe Luisa by Wear Lemonade
make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-happy-couture-bianca-wearlemonade
Blouse Bianca by Wear Lemonade
make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-diy-frida-couture-2-copie
Robe Frida by Wear Lemonade
make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-diy-rita-veste-wearlemonade-1
Veste Rita by Wear Lemonade
make-my-lemonade-jupe-ava-do-it-yourself-diy-1
Jupe Ava by Wear Lemonade
make-my-lemonade-do-it-yourself-mona-perfecto-wearlemonade
Perfecto Mona by Wear Lemonade
For the risk takers, here are the free patterns offered by Wear Lemonade. I talk about risks because most of the appeal seems to reside in its gorgeous and stylish owner but after quick look at the drafting, I saw some odd things. Proceed with caution!

République du Chiffon

Dress Ludivine
Top, Pencil Skirt and Minijupe Livie
Patterns at Republique du Chiffon are probably a safer option, however reviewing pictures and my own experiment with Veste Francoise (which was 95% done when I left NY early December but you may not see until many months #lazyblogger), I’m not a fan of their sleeve/armscye draft. Make a muslin!

I Am Patterns

Robe Cassiopee by I Am Patterns
Next up is this dress by I Am Patterns (sidenote: by now you must have noticed the tendency of using an English name for those companies, but I really can’t wrap my head around this one), available at Marie Claire Idées.

Histoire de Coudre

bc3a9ryl_pdf_bigcartel-01
Beryl Top by Histoire de Coudre
Technically not free but available for 1 cent, it’s the Beryl Top from Histoire de coudre. I think this is one of the patterns I may want to give a try. I see it in a medium silk weight, tucked in a high waist skirt…

Je fais mes dessous

For lingerie makers, you have a thong tutorial available at Je fais mes dessous (I make my undies).

More lingerie (bralettes and even men underwear) at Monsieur est une trainée (which I won’t translate because I’d rather not get the traffic that it would attract…)

1083

Lastly, the jeans from 1083 that I have mentioned before. If you want to make them, please note that there seam to be a mistake in the pattern, pointed out by YOU, dear readers. Have a look at the comments!

So, what do you think? Did I miss any free French pattern? Did you make any successfully (or not)? Please share!

6 thoughts on “FREE PATTERNS: The French Round-up!

  1. RitaS

    Ah, you have forgotten probably the most important french pattern company – Jalie. Their website offers bathing suit and athletic patterns as well as casual clothing. What I love is that the pattern comes in EVERY size. Yup, you get from little kid all the way to adult. They provide the directions before you buy the pattern, so if it doesn’t sound right – just don’t do it.

    I found their pattern for a bathing suit to be exactly as advertised in terms of fit for measurements. In addition, the directions were very easy to follow.

    However, for bras and lingerie, I think you cannot beat Merckwaerdigh. She sells patterns through Etsy and has a very nice selection. She also has a couple of free patterns available.

    • Eve Benoit

      Ritas, Jalie is a Canadian company, not a French one. Jeanne, the owner and designer, is a French Canadian.
      i agree that it is a fantastic line of patterns that look like current ready to wear. Great sizing and instructions in both languages too………

  2. 24

    I’m interested in Ludivine and “Qu’est-ce que tu fais pour les vacances ?” but I’ve sewn 7 times the Plantain pattern. Only one is the original version, but I really like the neckline and I’ve made dresses, sweat, nightdresses and T-shirt.

Leave a comment