Linda Wrap Dress by Sewing Tidbits

My Just Patterns samples – Linda, Kate and Christy!

Dear readers,

 

First, let me thank you for your reactions on my last post. I received lovely messages in the comments, on Instagram and by email. In addition to people volunteering to become part of the Just Patterns Development Group, I had some great discussions about sewing, patterns and fashion!

With over 70 volunteers for the development group, it has been very difficult to restrict the  selection to 20 but we managed and now everybody is hard at work and already providing great feedback! To offer an alternative to those who want to ask questions while they sew our patterns or post their finished makes we also created a Facebook Community Group. I’m not much of a Facebook person myself but I’m surprised already at the fluidity of conversation it enables…

But let’s talk about today’s topic! This dress is my first version of our latest pattern release, the Linda Wrap Dress. I have been obsessed with this dress since Eira – The Pattern Line – made it. It’s for garments like this that I originally wanted to launch Just Pattern. I am just thrilled that it has finally joined of my closet!

<p class=

I could go on and on about this design because I love everything about it! I think it has great details, such as the collar, the metal buckle  and the big pockets. It also has a kind of uniform vibe that makes me feel extra confident on days I have to attend important meetings. A little like a man suit, but more interesting that its traditional female counter part, the sheath dress.

In case you are wondering, the only closure is at the waist. I recommend wearing a slip underneath unless you like to live dangerously! The skirt overlap does generally a good job at revealing only an attractive yet appropriate amount of leg. But I’ve been caught in some crazy NYC winds and luckily I was prepared!

 

Pattern


Pattern Link – Linda Wrap Dress by Just Patterns
Size – We ended up not releasing this size, equivalent to a 32 in our size chart.

The biggest disclaimer of this post is that I did not sew the pattern as is. As you know, I’m petite and I deliberately wanted to try a more fitted look than the one intended. I used the size we initially planned to release as a 34, I removed 1″ to the skirt length and 2″ to the sleeves length.

I think sizing down works  great for the bodice and the waistband, but I could have done with the extra ease in the hips area. For future samples I will also skip shortening the skirt and remove only 1″ of the sleeve length.

When we reviewed the fit and measurements of the final garment, we decided that it would be too small on most people. We moved all of our grading up one size as a result. But in case you are not into the relaxed look, sizing down is a great option.

 

Making


Fabric – Wool from Mood Fabric, I believe it was Rag&Bone
Notions – The 35mm buckle, eyelets and snaps (inside the belt) are from Botani in the NY Garment District.
Helpful resources – a list of useful resources for this pattern is available at Just Patterns.

Of course I am biased, but I find the construction of this dress very straightforward. I love that using french seams and sandwiching the bodice and the skirt between the 2 layers of the belt provides clean finish on the inside, no serging or binding required!

You may have seen on Instagram that I bought a Dual Compensating Raising Foot for my industrial machine and it really made the double topstitching easier. Since buying it I keep looking for excuses to double topstitch ALL THE THINGS!

The belt buckle is probably the only unusual part of the construction but I posted some pictures of the process and if you take your time it shouldn’t be hard to figure out.

Just Patterns Bias Slip dress by Sewing TidbitsJust Patterns Bias Slip dress by Sewing Tidbits

Pattern


Pattern Link – Christy Slip Dress and Kate Bias Top by Just Patterns
Size – 34

I used our bias slip dress pattern to create a lingerie style slip. I needed a V neck to match the wrap dress plunging neckline,  so I used the neckline of our bias top pattern. And since I was going to cut some silk I decided that I may as well make a lingerie tank too!

Making


Fabric – Nude Silk Charmeuse from Mood Fabric
Notions – Gold lingerie strap hardware from Botani.
Helpful resources – a list of useful resources for this pattern is available at Just Patterns.

I used a single layer of fabric instead of 2, finished the edges with bias binding and made adjustable lingerie straps instead of spaghetti ones. I wouldn’t say that it is a very quick sew because of the time it takes to cut properly but the construction is relatively fast. I always find my slip/tank projects very rewarding. The garments feel luxurious and get worn a lot (including just to sleep!!) and the time involved is reasonable.

 

I really love those 3 additions to my handmade wardrobe and I can predict that the wrap dress is going to remain a favorite for the years to come. After all, isn’t creating pieces that will last longer than some cheap fast-fashion option what we try to achieve as sewers? Which of your handmade garment(s) has endured the test of time? I would love to hear your thoughts on creating a wardrobe that lasts!

17 thoughts on “My Just Patterns samples – Linda, Kate and Christy!

  1. Fabric Tragic

    I love your wrap dress, chic beyond measure! My most enduring garments have had that perfect combination of great fabric, a great pattern and a clear gap in the wardrobe…. im also at that point where my skills are also good enough to produce endurance!

  2. kalimak

    I too love the Linda dress 🙂 I’m adding it to my to-buy list (and to-make list as well, of course).
    What cup size are the patterns drafted for? I was looking for that information but couldn’t find it in the Just Patterns shop (maybe I missed it). I find that a description of the body model for the patterns helps me figure out potential adjustments. Thanks!

    • Sewing Tidbits

      Thank Kamila! Our patterns are mostly draped so we don’t specify a cup size. This particular dress has quite a bit of ease so up to a D cup (my current size) I wouldn’t advise for any manipulation prior to making a muslin.
      Your suggestion of adding the measurements of our model and the size she’s wearing is great. I will work on that. Thank you!!

      • kalimak

        Thanks so much! I’ll let you know when I make the dress. I think it’s so beautiful and practical. The design is pared down to really the most essential and striking details.

      • kalimak

        Oh, by the way — no worries about alterations in advance of trying out a pattern. What I actually meant is a different fitting “cheat” — adding extra seam allowance in places in anticipation of alterations. Obviously, that only works for some things (like moving the shoulder seam or extra space at the waist) but not when, say, an FBA may be needed. Got the pattern, will muslin soon 🙂

  3. Beth (SunnyGal Studio)

    you look so chic! perfect New York look. I need to make that slip, it would be really useful under knit dresses.

  4. Splinters&Stitches

    That wrap dress is amazing! I don’t have the figure to pull it off, but it’s amazing on you, and likely lots of other women as well–great job! I think (and I’m not exactly a “fashionista”, so take this with the whole shaker of salt!) that the secret to a long lasting wardrobe is to use good quality fabrics and make simple designs. Simplicity is what makes something more useful in your closet because it can be manipulated in different ways using different jewelry, shoes, attitude, etc. You just can’t do that with a statement garment.

    • Sewing Tidbits

      Thank you! I think you are right about simplicity. I just finished the 10×10 challenge, where I wore the same 10 garments for 10 days combined differently and it’s definitely the simple pieces that allowed me to do that!

  5. Alex

    This pattern is fantastic! It just went on my shopping list *guilty look*. I really love the way it looks on you, really stylish make. And congratulations again on the new pattern line, feels like a breath of fresh air in the indie pattern landscape. I’ll pass on more feedback once I get a chance to make it.

  6. beautyfull handmade

    Thanks, god!! Fortunately i read this post before i cut my fabric.
    This Linda dress was the dress which was directed me to JustPatterns. I was fallen in love with Linda immediately. Absolutely! as you wrote. it really has some Uniform vibes but not Uniform. i believe this dress makes me feel very me if i wear. so i am gonna make it for my job interview!! i don’t wanna classic interview look but wanna look formal and feminine, stylish at the same time.
    I am very average size 34 and i am more keen on fitted size. i am confused little bit about the size since i read your post. size down or stay on my true size. I’ll let you know the result on Facebook development group.

    • Sewing Tidbits

      Hi Soo, thanks for visiting the blog!! I’m sure it will be a great interview dress. I lost a lot of weight due to nursing so sizing down in the bodice worked well for me, but I’m sure that the 34 will be a nice relaxed fit on you. Send progress pictures in the Facebook group if you’re not sure and we’ll take it from there!

Leave a Reply

