Tidbits #1

Dear readers,

The other day, I wrote about short-form content and I never thought that with the blog name I chose (many moons ago, on a whim and without particularly liking it), maybe that’s what I meant to do all along!! So, welcome to Tidbits first edition, where I share stuff I saw, read, heard.

Dartless Top SewingTidbits-3Sewing Tidbits…

2 beautiful Instagram accounts : Notes of a Pattern Maker and Contour Affair.

Now that’s what I call a great post from Jen at Grainline Studios. I’ve been completely underwhelmed by the brand’s latest pattern releases but her voice hasn’t changed and is still ON POINT. There are no secrets to good sewing, only practice practice practice!!

I don’t think I really need a Cape Blazer in my closet (or do I??) but this is what I like to see from the Indie pattern designer!

A nice article about sewing in the Atlantic. I enjoyed the history part on the sewing kit but the text doesn’t really go anywhere at the end and I “stayed hungry” (that’s a litteral translation of the French expression “rester sur sa faim).

And other Bits!

I’m fairly recent listener to podcasts, and have been following the one produced by Leandra Medine of Man Repeller since the beginning. However, it’s been a few episodes that she is losing me. The last one is all about getting out of your comfort zone and I’m just getting tired of the constant run for improvement. Can’t you just be happy about where you are and what you have? Do you really have to “challenge yourself” all the time to become a “Better You”? Listen and tell me what you think!

A few weeks ago, I saw this great Cuban movie Viva and I highly recommend it! I’ve never been to Cuba but I could really feel the Carribbean vibe I have encountered in Haiti, the Dominican Republic or Panamá. The story is beautiful, the music is awesome and the photography is mind-blowing!

What are the words or images you enjoyed recently, please share!

12 thoughts on “Tidbits #1

  1. Becky June 4, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    Unlike you, I haven’t read or seen anything lately interesting enough to share. Sorry! I did follow the link to read Jen’s post, and she is right on, as usual. My mother was a terrific seamstress, but it came from decades of sewing from necessity. She had a lot of practice! And her sewing was not always without faults. Actually, I have seen designer dresses in RTW that had plenty of faults, so there really is no such thing as perfection, I don’t think. And as my mother always said, “it will never be seen on a galloping horse”. Clothing is to wear, not to model. I can’t see myself in a cape blazer – too confining! I think your new approach to the blog is terrific. Let’s just talk across the fence, ok?

    • Sewing Tidbits June 5, 2016 / 2:53 am

      I love the idea of talking across the fence (especially since I never lived in a place where people do that)!! I think i have a similar motto to your mom, when I give myself a hard time for a detail I try to always to tell myself “if someone notices this, they are standing waaaaay too close!!”

      • Becky June 6, 2016 / 12:38 am

        OH, I love that thought – if they notice, they are standing too close! Great way to think about this and so many other things as well.

  2. crab and bee June 5, 2016 / 2:42 am

    Thank you for sharing that article from The Atlantic! I ended up feeling the same way about the article – I gratefully absorb to any mention of the history of sewing, and it touched on some interesting ideas but never really got anywhere. I tried reading a book called The History of the Paper Pattern Industry but it ended up being a recitation of dates and names.

    • Sewing Tidbits June 5, 2016 / 2:54 am

      Oh i thing I heard about this book, well good to know that the content is not that engaging. I could have been tempted…

  3. 24 June 13, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    Thanks for sharing, it’s interesting ! I could share 2 Instagram accounts, “thehouseofsew” and “crossingthreads”.

    • Sewing Tidbits June 13, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      Wow!! I’m completely in love with “thehouseofsew”, thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Tara June 14, 2016 / 4:45 am

    Thanks for sharing these two instagram accounts I didn’t know about!
    your comment about always getting out of your comfort zone, always striving for better, reminded me of an article I read on slate. fr http://www.slate.fr/story/118467/etre-heureux-oubliez-vous
    I am not fully convinced by the article, but it was definitely food for thought.

    I personally feel that being summoned to develop ourselves at all times is wearing us out, and leaves very little space for interaction with others – they are either perceived as the obstacle to our personal development or its object.

  5. Sasha June 24, 2016 / 1:04 pm

    I think the Tidbits are a winner!

Leave a Reply

