#PRSewingBee – A-line Skirt – Vogue 1247

Dear readers,

You may have realized that I am awful at sewing on a deadline. I announced my participation in the Pattern Review Surprise Sewing Bee contest and then COMPLETELY forgot to check PR on 1st of November. On the 3rd I had almost a panic attack reading that submissions were due on Friday. It meant that I had no weekend to sew, when 99% of my sewing time usually happens… But I managed!
wpid944-Vogue1247stripes-3.jpg wpid942-Vogue1247stripes-2.jpg wpid940-Vogue1247stripes-1.jpg

I stole 15 minutes here and there to make a lined version of the infamous skirt from Vogue 1247. Two years ago, I made the top and I cannot say that I liked it. It was huge and uncomfortable, even after alterations. I probably wore it twice. However, I heard only great things about the skirt. So I figured it could be a quick project not requiring a muslin.

wpid948-Vogue1247stripes-5.jpg wpid954-Vogue1247stripes-19.jpg wpid956-Vogue1247stripes-21.jpgSo many people reviewed this pattern since 2011 that I believe that everything has been said, but here are my remarks:

  • The construction of the pockets is a bit fiddly. I’m sure there is an easier way, but I had no time to figure it out.
  • I did little bartacks to reinforce the pocket openings.
  • The design/fit/finishing are great. If all the Vogue patterns were like that, we the overall standards of sewing patterns (indie and non indie) would be higher.
  • Creating a lining pattern is very easy: just overlap the yoke and skirt parts for the front and the back. For the back lining, I recommend removing the SA were the lining is attached to the zipper for a clean finish. Attaching the lining to the tape is similar to sewing the pocket bag on a welt (do I make any sense? Is further explanation required?).
  • I used french seams for the lining.
  • Although it is lined I still used seam binding (snug hug tape) because it’s my favorite finishing method and it looks a lot cleaner than over locked edged to me.

The fabric comes from my 2013 Paris fabric shopping. It’s a striped cotton silk blend that I found at De Gilles. Friends attending Chardon-Savard fashion school recommended the shop many years ago but only last year I managed to pay a visit. It also appears to not be on the radar of fabric tourists but trust me, it’s a gem! The prices are not cheap but what you will find there, you will not encounter anywhere else in the city.

wpid958-Vogue1247stripes-22.jpg wpid962-Vogue1247stripes-25.jpg wpid964-Vogue1247stripes-26.jpgThe main fabric being a bit thin, I decided to line the skirt with something more substantial and I used cotton baptiste from my stash. I  got it in New York but where, when and why? I have no idea… I appear to be the victim of stash amnesia syndrome!

I’m very pleased with my skirt, and with myself since i managed to make it happen in 2 (work/week) days. The Old Man likes it too, according to him “it looks like an apron… in a good way”. Whatever that means. But he suggested a linen version, so I guess he does like it.

wpid946-Vogue1247stripes-4.jpg

Last point, pictures are from my new camera! I have been practicing every weekend to learn the manual mode and I feel like it’s starting to make sense. But of course taking pictures in 5 minutes between the door and the car before going to work is not the easiest way to practice new skills…

In addition, the fabric has a subtle sheen to it (think very very thin taffeta) which makes it a pain to look ironed. I did my best but I realize that it may not be the best fabric choice for a sewing contest. Especially on PR, where people are picky (with reason). So I leave you with my far-from-perfect focus and slightly wrinkled look…

Did you enter the contest? Which is your favorite submission so far? I love Dawn’s crazy zebra lining!

12 thoughts on “#PRSewingBee – A-line Skirt – Vogue 1247

  1. Sasha November 7, 2014 / 7:30 pm

    Lovely… fits you perfectly and looks so polished!

  2. Becky November 7, 2014 / 11:04 pm

    Very nice skirt! I like it, and I don’t think it looks like an apron.

  3. Chris @ makeandwear November 7, 2014 / 11:55 pm

    Very nice… and chic🙂 I entered too, I was delighted to actually make a deadline for once! best of luck🙂

    • Sewing Tidbits November 10, 2014 / 5:20 pm

      Hi Chris, thank you for your comment! I’m glad to see you will be in Round #2, your skirt is stunning and must have been A LOT of work!

      • Chris @ makeandwear November 10, 2014 / 7:49 pm

        Thanks – I spent alot of time on it towards the end of the week – not sure if I can put as much time in this week though!

  4. Megan November 8, 2014 / 2:13 pm

    Very nice skirt. I entered as well, so fingers crossed we both make it to the next round. There are so many gorgeous skirts in the competition, it will be a tough one to judge,

    • Sewing Tidbits November 10, 2014 / 5:25 pm

      Thank you Megan! I agree that it must have been really hard to judge between so many beautiful designs!

  5. Sarah - Fabric Tragic November 9, 2014 / 2:00 am

    It’s beautiful inside and out. I have this in the pattern stash. I know you are petite – did you lengthen this at all or is this the standard length on you?

    • Sewing Tidbits November 10, 2014 / 5:22 pm

      Thank you Sarah, it’s a beautiful pattern I hope you will get around to making it. You’re right I’m 5’3 and I lengthened the hem by 2″. For me it makes it work appropriate (my definition of work appropriate is shorter than a lot of people)!

Leave a Reply

