New Named patterns!!!

I have no idea why my blogroll is not full of them already but FYI the new Named patterns are out!!

I never tried them before, mostly because I believe that they are designed with tall (Finnish) people in mind. And obviously 5’3 dark hair me does not qualify (not because of the hair). But I love that we have more edgy pattern designers around. Honestly, I am not a retro girl, so even if I find a lot of indie designs cute, I will never wear them. Unfortunately for me, a lot of the designs don’t fit my lifestyle. I don’t know winter, or even fall (Yes you can hate me now), and I have very little activities that require wearing overalls or fringed sweaters… So I had to go with a basic design.
Even though I could have found it in a burda magazine/hacked my nettie/drafted it, I decided to give the company a try with the Shadi Knit Skirt pattern.
IMG_4188.JPG

It was just bought and printed, I will report back asap!

You can see the whole collection on the Named website.
What do you think? Do you plan on making some of the designs?

17 thoughts on “New Named patterns!!!

  1. jne4sl August 14, 2014 / 7:15 pm

    Yes, I’ve been excited all day and waiting for talk about the collection. I haven’t ordered yet, but I’ll have a hard time whittling down bellow four patterns. Definitely the jeans and the Wenona dress/blouse. Probably the Leotie dress and the sleeveless Koko shirt because I could make it quickly and wear it immediately. I could go on, I don’t need a fringed sweatshirt, but I love the lines and have been exposed to so much AC the last week I’d love to own it right now. Totally agree, I love their style especially in contrast to the retro elsewhere. Anyway, I’m a 5’1″ brunette and have made many named patterns already. I haven’t had many fit issues–pants I’ve just shortened the hem, shirts I’ve reduced length in the armscye and shorten sleeves. Most their styles are quite fitted or cropped and I usually find I don’t swim in them even with only minimal alterations. I find Named’s fit to be about the best I’ve come across and although their designs tend toward minimal every one I’ve tried has some little flourish that makes it a stand out. I’ll quit gushing, just can’t wait to see these made up.

    • Sewing Tidbits August 14, 2014 / 8:16 pm

      “Yes, I’ve been excited all day and waiting for talk about the collection.” Your comment made me laugh soooo much, this is exactly me! Good to know that even though you are part of the petite club you did not have too many alterations, this is definitely a relief. I checked your Kollabora profile and wow! First I could never have told you are 5’1 and second, you DID make a lot of Named patterns!

      • jne4sl August 16, 2014 / 7:04 pm

        I’ve actually made more than I’ve posted but another thing I like about their designs is they are very wearable, they fit right into my wardrobe and mix with things I have and each other. They aren’t necessarily showy or attention grabbing but still feel special. I’m sure I look short IRL but at least I’m not tripping on my hems.

  2. thewallinna August 14, 2014 / 8:18 pm

    As a tall girl with long waist line, Named is my go-to designer. So far, I tried four of their patterns (2 trousers, a dress and a coat) and all of them were absolute successes. Although I am a big fan of their designs and would sew all of their previous garments, but I am quite disappointed with the new collection😦 But, hey, nobody’s perfect! Looking forward how your skirt will turn out!

    • Sewing Tidbits August 18, 2014 / 5:20 pm

      I always think that the girls behind Named are ACTUALLY designing with you in mind! PS: I love your new hair!!

  3. Lindsay Woodward August 14, 2014 / 8:53 pm

    I love Named too! Although so far I’ve only made the Jamie Jeans. It’s a great pattern and I didn’t have to shorten it too much even though I’m only 5’4″. I also bought the Kaisla blazer recently, but it’s not going to be cold enough to make one for quite a while! Of their new collection I think the Ama cowl neck frock and Yona wrap coat are my favorites🙂

    • Sewing Tidbits August 18, 2014 / 5:24 pm

      I remember your jamie jeans, they look great! I also find the lines of the Kaisler blazer appealing but I’m afraid it would “eat” my little frame…

  4. Nykied August 14, 2014 / 9:03 pm

    I have the Jamie Jeans pattern in my queue but I’m a little scared of making jeans, so it keeps getting pushed back down the queue ;0)

    • Sewing Tidbits August 18, 2014 / 5:24 pm

      Jeans ARE scary. I tried once, in 2010. I did not try again…

  5. Sophie August 15, 2014 / 2:11 am

    I was super excited about the new collection too, but I have to agree with Thewallina, there were more pieces from the last collections that I just couldn’t not buy, and this collections there’s a few I could leave behind. But that said, I LOVE the wrap coat, and that poofy skirt, the little mini and the shirt with the funky sleeve pieces.

    • Sewing Tidbits August 18, 2014 / 5:22 pm

      Looking at all the love the wrap coat is getting, I believe they would have been more successful with more coats and jackets… What’s up with all the vests?

  6. nx44 August 15, 2014 / 3:56 am

    I love named patterns as I am not a retro girl either. I haven’t bought any yet but they are finally going to be stocked in New Zealand so I am eyeing up the collection. I really like the ailakki jumpsuit from the last collection but I don’t know when I would ever wear it. If only my life was like a movie!

    • Sewing Tidbits August 18, 2014 / 5:21 pm

      Aaaah we all wish to live in a movie, don’t we?

  7. Sara August 15, 2014 / 7:19 am

    It’s a beautiful collection, but mostly not for me. I was looking at the boyfriend jeans but I wonder how they would fit in real life. They look more carrot shaped than slouchy on the model. Some of those patterns have some really interesting design elements though, so I’ll keep an eye out as I’m curious to see what others will make from them.

    • Sewing Tidbits August 17, 2014 / 2:59 pm

      I was looking too at the boyfriend jeans! IF I find nice denim here (unlikely) then I would print it out and compare with my favorite Gap boyfriend jeans before starting even a muslin because I could NOT rock denim carrot pants…

  8. craftylittlebugger August 15, 2014 / 9:17 am

    The previous collection of patterns really appealed to me, but this one not so much. I really like their overall aesthetic. I am very interested in the coat pattern though, I’ve been looking for a car coat style, without the vintage fuss. I’ve never sewn with Named before, but after reading thewallinna’s comment, maybe I should as I am pretty long waisted.
    Very excited to see what people make from this collection!

    • Sewing Tidbits August 16, 2014 / 2:51 pm

      I agree with you, it will definitely be interesting to see what others make! I love the name “car coat” style!

Leave a Reply

