Matthew Williamson from September Burda Magazine

When I saw it online, it was love at first site… I knew I was going to make it !

So here it is : after grading down the bodice to a size 34, shortening it to accomodate my 5’3 frame, eliminating the facings, redrafting the lining, stabilizing all curved/angled seams with band of fusible interfacing, changing the zipper to an exposed one :

Front
Front view on my made to measure form
Back
Back
Detail1
Bust apex
Pocket
Pocket
Zipper
Metal zipper is from Riri (find them at Pacific Trimmings in the Garment District of New York)
Lining
The inside, without facings
The vent is lined using a combination of the technique described here for pencil skirts with a bagged hem and what I saw in the most expensive sheath dress in my closet with a free lining

I wore it at a wedding in Long Island with nude shoes. I wish there were pictures of me wearing it but the camera died on us just after the first dance !

5 thoughts on “Matthew Williamson from September Burda Magazine

  1. Kathleen October 16, 2012 / 2:01 pm

    Cool, I see the joining techniques she used were from Fashion-Incubator.

    • The Sewing French Girl October 23, 2012 / 3:08 pm

      Hi Kathleen! Sorry for some reason your comment was fell in the spam category in wordpress (weird). This dress would definitely not have been here without your help !

  2. Jhulysdiary October 16, 2012 / 7:05 pm

    What a beautiful dress and fabric! You also did a great job with the exposed zipper, I tried it once, but it was a total disaster……

Leave a Reply

