Frankenpattern making, the result of Grainline Moss and Lekala 5430

Moss Denim Mini Skirt - Grainline Studio - Lekala 5460 by Sewingtidbits

 

You guys! I took pictures! I did, and of 3 projects so get ready for some intense blog activity, because I may be reaching a post a week! I know, I know, it’s going to be INSANE!

So, first to come is the result of my frankenpattern-making from december (DECEMBER !! shame…). I did a whole construction post then, so there is not much to add.

Moss Denim Mini Skirt - Grainline Studio - Lekala 5460 by Sewingtidbits

 

As you can see, it’s VERY VERY short. I don’t know what possessed me when I decided on the length… If I remember well I chopped off at least 3″. Aaaah late night sewing, when will I learn ?? It’s a lot of (short) legs showing… But surprisingly, it does not stop me from wearing it almost every weekend. It’s like impractical cut-offs. What can I say, I like to live a dangerous life!

Moss Denim Mini Skirt - Grainline Studio - Lekala 5460

Where I hold a wooden giraffe in an attempt to fight posing discomfort…

Now, on the whole process… The construction went seamlessly (haha) except because of my own stupid, stupid mistake. Can you spot what is wrong here ?

Moss Denim Mini Skirt - Grainline Studio - Lekala 5460

That’s right, I assembled the wrong yoke and back pieces AND serged them AND topstitched them. YES BOTH OF THEM. The result looked kind of weird but I did not stop. When I realized, even though I was alone in my sewing room, I was extremely embarrassed… Of course I took a picture, so that you can all make fun of me or reassure me that it happens to everyone (while thinking, OMG this girl is kind of dumb!).

Apart from that I’m super happy with my pattern prep process, the zipper and the pockets almost assembled themselves (almost)…

Grainline denim moss skirt

Blurry rushed Iphone photo…

Denim grainline moss skirt Grainline moss denim skirt

Fabric : in my initial post, I said it was chambray and as you can all see, it’s not. It’s denim. OBVIOUSLY! I actually had to google the difference… The verdict is : denim is a twill, chambray is a plain will. So if you all knew this, you can make fun of me again.

Going back to this nice and soft denim, I do not remember where I bought it. It was 4 years ago, when I just moved to NYC and I decided to knock-off an Abercrombie gathered mini skirt. It was a disaster, skirt was never completed and very little fabric was salvaged, stored and moved to Haiti, to finally found its use 3 1/2 years later.

Moss Denim Mini Skirt - Grainline Studio

 

Lastly, I’m thinking more and more about what I sewed and what I sew. I lost some weight in the last 6 months, so I went through a closet purge assisted by The Old Man – TOM. It was a painful process, but I had to admit that I don’t wear a lot of things that I made (including quite a few that was blogged last year). The time involved makes it extra hard to remove items from the closet, even though they were worn once. So I want to plan my projects a lot more carefully now.

TOM has a very precise idea of what he likes me to wear (very decent, I promise) and I’m starting to realize that he is usually right. Currently, I’m running by him my ideas before I jump into the making and the results have been very wearable: more solid colors, natural material and focusing on a close fit. As much as I like loose shapes and interesting prints, they tend to make overpower my small frame. To give you an idea, the next posts will include 2 solid linen dresses and a shirt dress.

What about you ? Do you have an approval process before you start a garment or you jump right into what your heart (or pinterest) tells you ?

Comments

  1. Oh my goodness…I did exactly the same with the yoke and back pieces in my moss skirt…late night sewing, there’s always a casualty in my house. Good for practicing my sewing problem solving. I LOVE these makes! And the short skirt looks lovely on you.

  2. Hey at least you have the legs for it. Sassy Sewing Bees https://facebook.com/sassysewingbees

  3. It’s very cute! But yes indeed it is short – you look great in it! I’m just coming to similar conclusions on my self-made wardrobe. I’ve found doing some of the exercises on the colette wardrobe architect like silhouette and colour choice have been very useful in planning what suits me best!

    • Thanks Sarah! I’m loosely following the wardrobe architect serie of Colette. So at work (hum hum) I sketch in my todo-list notebook (again hum hum), the silhouette that I am wearing. The verdict is that I’m SUPER BORING! Skinny jeans and shirt, pencil skirt and shirt, belted dress that is actually a loong shirt, etc…. Should I embrace my boringness?

      • Hmmm! I wouldn’t call it boring, I’d say you just know what suits you! There’s a lot to be said for sticking with what you know works most of the time, and then being risky for the rest! But that is just me – the world would be very boring if we were all safe in all of our choices!

  4. i did the same thing with the yoke and back pieces…..not paying attention

  5. Just came across your blog for the first time – to read that you made the same mistake on the Moss skirt that I did. Haha, we should be keeping our eyes open while we sew…

Trackbacks

  1. […] some hunting around the site for other options. A browse of Pattern Review led me to the brilliant Sewing Tidbits who has been trying out using out the Lekala patterns as basic building blocks or slopers and then […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

